McPherson Area 
Solid Waste Utility

About Us

The McPherson Area Solid Waste Utility (MASWU) was established in 1991 by a cooperative agreement between the cities within McPherson County and McPherson County government. The utility has a 3 member board of directors. One board member is appointed by McPherson County, one by the City of McPherson, and one by the small cities within the county. 

MASWU is responsible for all the solid waste collection and disposal in McPherson County. The trash is collected and hauled to the transfer station where it is loaded onto semi trailers and hauled to the MASWU Landfill and occasionally the Reno County Landfill or the City of Salina Landfill. The MASWU Solid Waste Landfill is not open to the public. 

MASWU does operate a construction and demolition (C&D) landfill which takes in only construction and demolition materials as defined by the State of Kansas Department of Health and Environment. The C&D landfill is open to the public, however the transfer station is better equipped for vehicles that do not have a hydraulic lift.  Also located at the landfill is our household hazardous waste (HHW) facility. HHW drop off is available to any resident of McPherson County. The HHW drop off day is every Thursday from 9:00am to 3:30pm. 

The MASWU transfer station houses a recycling center, yard waste area, composting pad, dump area for trash, tires, scrap metal, and small amounts of construction and demolition materials. Both our Transfer Station and our C&D Landfill are open to any resident of McPherson County at no charge to the resident for materials brought in from their personal property.   
Board of Directors
Robert Carlson, Chairman, Small Cities Representative
Michael Craig, Treasurer, McPherson City Representative
David Schmidt, Vice Chairman, McPherson County Representative